TGIS instead of TGIF…

I love Saturdays for many reasons.

The main one is due to my faith – I’m a Seventh Day Adventist and we observe the Sabbath day being a day of rest and faithful reverence. It reminds me that I need to slow down (which is something I’m not good at doing) and focus on the important things in my life…

Also, obviously, it’s a day that I’m able to recover from a crazy week. There are little incentives that add to my quality of life, like getting to wake up a bit later or making the breakfast I want (today I made chocolate pancakes with strawberries and honey).

I also enjoy the fact that we still get post on Saturday, and most of the time, that’s when my parcels arrive. Today, we received a lovely (unexpected) parcel from my cousin and his wife, full of goodies for our baby. I’m so blessed with such lovely, thoughtful relatives.

Here’s a picture of some of the lovely toys we received!

20130629_215416

I was standing on a chair while taking the toy photo, and my dog Skittles is quite concerned that I’ve got a vantage point over her.

20130629_215426

I think Skittles loves Saturdays just as much as I do, because that’s when she gets to go on a nice walk with us at our nearby reserve. Today we organised for someone to bring her dog over for a playdate, and the dogs got on like a house on fire.

We’re trying to entertain her more because she’s been a bit naughty lately and has been getting out of the yard quite often – we haven’t figured out exactly where she gets out but I know she can climb the fence quite well. We probably have to resort to using an electric dog fence – and no, not like this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8fwtkC5UJU

We want to get the invisible electric fence where the dog gets a little, non-harmful shock when it crosses the boundary. I think it’s just crucial so she doesn’t get out into the big bad world where she could get into a fight or get run over. Does anyone have any other suggestions on how to train dogs to stay within their boundaries (other than building the walls up 10m high)?

IMG_7948

And just in terms of my pregnancy, every Saturday, a new pregnancy week ticks over and I receive updates from my pregnancy apps reminding me how many weeks pregnant I am. Today, I’m officially 32 weeks pregnant and my baby is the size of a large jicama and is the weight of a coconut. I love how they always compare my baby to a fruit or vegetable.

I hope all of you had a lovely Saturday as well!

2 thoughts on “TGIS instead of TGIF…

Leave a Reply

