Random Monday musings…

This is one of my final manic Mondays for a while… (though soon it may be manic everyday!) I’ve finally come to my last week at work and I realise I really do need the break. The house needs my attention, and it’ll finally give me time to sit back and communicate with my baby.

I know some mums-to-be talk to their babies, play them music, even write them letters. While I do sometimes talk to my baby (mainly “Ouch” or “How did you get your foot there?”), I still feel I don’t know him too well. I struggle with things that aren’t blatant reality (i.e. a baby screaming in your face) but perhaps I just need to slow down, catch my breath and savour this previous time.

Anyway, I might outline the last few days’ highlights.

Day 29

We usually spend part of Saturday at church – this week’s service was in the afternoon. The morning was spent preparing things for church including making some creamy soup (which is always a challenge for me).

I know I’m a Gen Y baby and I grew up in the midst of computers and mobile phones. But to me, technology and kitchens don’t mix. Rather than putting things my veggies into an electric chopper, I chop them by hand (which takes FOREVER). I sometimes whip cream by hand – really tones those triceps!

However, Skittles and I have a mutual agreement that the scariest thing in the kitchen is the dreaded stick-blender. I don’t think I’ve ever braved blending something with it before (not without spraying it all over the walls). Thank goodness for Daniel who is the expert at all things electrical. 🙂

One thing I do enjoy making is risotto – I made this one a few weeks ago with pumpkin, mushroom and chives. Perhaps it’s true that Asians are more comfortable cooking rice.

Image

Day 28

I like quiet Sundays. 🙂 We had some lovely warm weather so I did some laundry and took our dog for a walk in the reserve. We’re really blessed to have a lovely reserve with a flowing stream, lake and waterfall as well as abundant wildlife (much to Skittles delight – she loves to chase ducks). This pic below was taken a few weeks ago, after some heavy rain.

Image

Another highlight of the day was watching the new Wolverine. I have to admit that part of the reason why I loved it is because it was set in Japan and people were speaking Japanese. I love Japanese culture and the language – とても美しい! Of course, I enjoyed the action and I do love female fighters.

Back when I was learning Ninjutsu, I honestly wanted to explore a career (in the sidelines, of course) as a female martial arts actress, doing stunts etc. I accumulated a lot of bruises in my growing up years but nevertheless, it was fun (and still is).

Image

I ended my lovely Sunday with ironing while watching the Formula 1 race, and I decided to iron the baby’s sheets and muslin wraps. Yes, I know I’m strange – people say that I’m nesting but what really happened is that I left them in the dryer overnight and they all got crumpled. And my baby is not going to have crumpled sheets and muslin wraps!

Day 27

As I was saying about manic Monday, it was just one of those busy days at work as usual. I had my Japanese takeaway (probably for the last time in a long time) and resisted going out to buy a bubble tea.

It was announced today (to my great delight) that Air Asia X is flying directly from Kuala Lumpur to Adelaide! This means that if I want to be my stingy ol self, I can still afford to visit home once in a while. I’m only concerned that I might want slightly more frills on my aircraft once I’m travelling with bubs.

Anyway, if anyone wants to jump on their inaugural promotion of AU$99 from Adelaide to Kuala Lumpur, check it out – the sale starts tomorrow:
http://www.airasia.com/au/en/home.page

Question of the day which I have been pondering: pregnancy photos, yay or nay? I don’t really want to spend more money on things (seeing I’m one of the world’s biggest cheapskates) but I was wondering if I should put in the effort to get some done before my belly shrinks back to its normal size (I wish).

Enjoy the rest of your week, folks!

One thought on “Random Monday musings…

Leave a Reply

