Sleep and the lack of it

Last night wasn’t too great a night for sleep – I think daylight savings has thrown off Jacob’s body clock a bit. I don’t really understand how daylight savings works too, so maybe it’s me who’s not adjusted properly.

Testament of this lack of sleep is this:
I was out walking the dog and carrying Jacob in his Bjorn, when I met a guy with two dogs who struck up conversation.

Him: How old’s yours?
Me: One and a half years…
(He gives me an odd look)
Me: Ohh, you mean the baby!? Sorry, two months…
Him: Aw, that’s okay. We just had one – he’s only 10 days.
Me: Congratulations!
Him: Thanks – what have you called him?
Me: Skittles. Oh wait, that’s the dog. Sorry. Jacob.

I think he probably figured I was a bit out of it (or thought perhaps I liked the dog more than the baby), so he left soon after. Oh dear.

Image

Jacob clearly has no issues sleeping though. Anyway, speaking of sleep – it was something I always thought I could do without, or at least steal a bit from each day.

My first all-nighter was when I was 10 or 11 – we had to write a novella for English class and my inspiration only came the night before it was due. A lot of Nescafe was consumed that night (yes, I’ve been drinking coffee since I was in primary school). I also spent many a night staying up writing stories or songs – once the idea hit me, my brain would not shut off.

Then I went to high school & college, where there were quite a few middle-of-the-night phone calls, web-surfing to the wee hours of the morning or just sitting in bed contemplating the future. Of course, there were also times I got caught up reading a really good novel or watching an entire season of anime (like 30 episodes in a row)…

At Uni, I had my days of clubbing and coming home at 8.00am – also, assignments took significantly longer and once I was on a roll, I wouldn’t stop til it was done. I remember once after a long stint of not sleeping, I KO-ed around 8.00am and woke up at 9.00am the next day. It was very disturbing.

But I think I turned things around when I met Daniel. I eventually learned that normal people actually sleep at night, and a good amount of sleep is about 8 hours each night. It took me a while to stamp out my bad habits, but now I’m a full-on advocate of sleeping well at night.

Well, where am I going with all of this? I just thought that I’d be better at handling the lack of sleep, seeing I have a long track record. But no – this fragmented sleep pattern is making me little scatterbrained, a bit moody at times and a bit less productive.

But I think it’s all worth it – waking up next to the man of my dreams is pretty worth it. XD

Image

Ā 

However, for mums-to-be (or mums-right-now), here are some ways to cope with the lack of sleep – I haven’t tried all of them but I really should sometime:

1. Talk about it – rant, rave, let people know that you’re struggling. You’ll find that you’ll get a few more supporters in your plight.

2. Sleep when baby sleeps – if baby has a nap in the day, take this opportunity to sleep too. Jacob doesn’t usually sleep for more than an hour at a time, but it still helps. My problem is I have daytime insomnia – when I was in play school, the ladies would pat my bum to try to get me to sleep to no avail.

3. Don’t bite off more than you can chew – Don’t try to take on too many responsibilities. If there’s anything I do wrong, it’s not saying no to everything that people want me to do. But saying no will evidently give me more time to relax, and more time with my cute baby (so it’s not always a bad thing).

4. Eat an apple instead of having a coffee – if you need to wake up, don’t pump your body with caffeine! An apple’s great and it’ll prevent that caffeine crash you have later in the day.

5. Get someone to help out – don’t be afraid to delegate. I sometimes get Daniel to change Jacob in the middle of the night (which is usually a bonus for him, because that’s when Jacob is bright and gurgling).

Enjoy the rest of the day, everyone! šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Sleep and the lack of it

  1. aahaha at your dialogue! i had a similar exchange with my mom a couple of weeks ago when she asked “how the little one is doing”. i was like “GREAT! i took him out for fetch for about an hour and he was super happy, and now he’s sleeping.” turns out she was totally asking about Future Child and not our dog Dewey lmao!! this has to be a dog-lover thing. šŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. I completely agree.. though my sleeping habits have always been awful. I always suffered from insomnia which fixed itself in the first year or so of motherhood, perhaps catching up on sleep. of course, now I have a bouncing toddler on my hands, it kicks back in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

