Another random end to the week..

What a week! I’ve really been enjoying the warm weather and would love it if it just stayed around this temperature always. Jacob likes the warm days and doesn’t pee on me every time we change his nappy!

Image

Summery days are soon to come though – I can feel it in the air. I love living in a city with four seasons. Growing up in a tropical country was fun, but I always wanted to experience the change in landscape. Of course, I would’ve loved to live somewhere with a white winter but then I know I’d freeze to death and be miserable the whole time. Adelaide’s the place for me, for now. 

Image

One highlight of the week was that my Melaleuca delivery arrived. It calls itself a wellness company which cuts out a lot of the chemicals used in our everyday products. I was actually looking for products that were gentler on skin; mine and also Jacob’s. I mentioned in a previous post that my skin condition has been deteriorating since after the pregnancy, and summer would have just made it worse.

Then a friend of mine mentioned Melaleuca products and gave me a small sample of the Renew skin cream – it really worked wonders! The burn I had on my right hand from oven cleaner is pretty much gone, and my skin stays moisturised for longer. I was actually prescribed a steroid cream for the burn but hardly ever used it because I didn’t want to get it on Jacob’s skin. At least I know that these products are safe to use, even on babies.

I’ll be trying out some of the products to see if they work for me, and perhaps will make the swap for our household. 🙂

Speaking of household, I have a few new proud additions to my household:

Image

Yes, I’m going crazy in the kitchen! I’ve been trying to learn new recipes and master new skills. On Thursday, I made some patties for the Shepherd’s Lodge which is a community meal programme I used to volunteer at. I need practice! They were yummy but a bit too moist. 

Anyway, my chopping boards are falling apart so I got a nice solid wooden one. My stockpot kept giving me burnt soup (trust me to buy it from Kmart!) and I remember once poor Grandpa Merv (Dan’s grandpa) putting in some elbow grease to clean the black bits off it. And since I’m looking to do more boiling and steaming of food, what better way than to get a good steamer set? These items were over 70% off and the grand total didn’t even reach $60 – what a bargain!

Image

Jacob has been a bit fussy this last week, and some people say that he’s going through one of those Wonder Weeks. So, I did some research and found a good article which explains in a nutshell what they are and when they happen.
http://www.mybabysleepguide.com/2012/01/when-are-wonder-weeks.html

Another theory is early teething. Now, I know he’s only 3 months old so he shouldn’t be teething yet. However, I’ve heard that the teeth can start developing within the gums (but not cutting through), causing some discomfort. I can actually see Jacob’s teeth below his gums now, and he’s been drooling a lot so it may be part of the reason why he’s a bit fussy. 

However, my strongest hunch is that he’s not getting enough sleep. He really fights off his sleep so he can look at things and be part of the conversation. On Monday, I went out shopping and expected him to sleep in the pram (which he normally does), but I don’t think he slept at all, resulting in a meltdown all the way home.

Today we got him to get some good naptimes in the morning (and he did a great 2.5 hour stint) and we’ll see the effects of it tonight. Apparently the more they sleep in the day, the longer they sleep at night…

Image

We’ll see about that, he says. Tonight’s sleep is crucial as we’re going away for the weekend, and it’ll be the first time he’s slept in a different place. I’m quite confident that he’ll be fine, especially if he sleeps in the car on the way there and takes a few naps in the day. But if not, I take responsibility for it (and I could always drive him around in the car)…

And yet again, will be finishing this post off past dark. Fridays seem to go so quickly. Have a great weekend everyone, and wish us luck on our first mini trip away from home!

Leave a Reply

