It’s starting to look a lot like Christmas…

It’s almost that time of year now! December is finally starting to set in and I am getting into the Christmas spirit! Bring on the Christmas carols, mince pies, decorations and presents!!

So, last year, our Christmas tree looked like this:

IMG_7704

Notice how everything on the tree was either red, gold, green or silver? That was my doing I guess. In the apartment I grew up in as a kid, we had a little 3 foot tree and I remember it just covered in these simple colours and tartan ornaments.

This year, however, Daniel wants something more colourful. Yes, he thinks I’m boring. But anyway, I will let him have his way this year (with the only rule being “Not too much tinsel” cos I don’t like tinsel). And we’ll see the results soon! I’m nearly done with Christmas shopping too, so the presents will be all under the tree.

As for now, this is all we have up so far:

20131206_123318

Yesterday, I took my little Elf Jacob to see Santa. His photo will come out on Monday, yippie! I feel like sneaking him back there in another outfit (and ask Daniel to go) just to get another shot. How Asian is that?

20131205_115046

Anyway, here he is, passed out after seeing Santa. He got a free colouring book from Santa and I’m looking to buy some colouring pencils so mummy can do it! I think I’m having more fun with this than he is!

I’d better go and do my groceries now (plus some extra Christmas shopping!). We have a bake-off at church on Sunday; Dan and I are going to attempt this beauty:

cake

Just so you know, I never grew up using an oven and still have trouble turning some on (What setting? Hob switch!?) I used to bake using a convection oven, til I made a blue apple crumble. Apparently, I’d put the convection heater part onto a blue tupperware cover and the plastic melted all over my food. Not pretty. XD

So, yes, I will let you know how I go. But for now, enjoy your December…

Oh wait, forgot my Top 5! Here are the top 5 things I’m thankful for this week!

5. I’m just blessed that we have abundance of things, like material posessions. Daniel seems to have gained an abundance of chocolate from his staff functions, which I have no problem appreciating with him. But no, I really mean that we are blessed with little luxuries all through life and we should never take this for granted.

4. I’m thankful for opportunities as well. Work opportunities are always not too far away, and I’m thankful for the opportunity to have adult conversations and to earn a little pocket money here and there. I was fretting a lot about the interviews I had to do for my magazine articles this week (i.e. “Will Jacob stay quiet in my phone interview, or will he/I blow it?”) but he was a perfect angel and it’s renewed my faith that I could actually manage something on top of taking care of a baby.

3. I’m thankful for friends that make life a lot less lonely. And I’m talking about friends here in Adelaide but also all across the world. I spend a hell lot of time on social media and some of my friends I haven’t seen for years, but we connect through Facebook or Whatsapp. Thanks for filling these little spaces in my life that would otherwise be empty.

2. “Thanks for the memories” really comes to heart here. At Christmastime, I look back at the wonderful memories I’ve shared with wonderful people and the good really outweighs the bad.

1. I’m so thankful for my family… Daniel and Jacob, thank you for being my joy and I’m sorry if I don’t tell you enough that I love you. And of course, to my parents in Malaysia and in Australia, and all the extended family – I’m so blessed to have all of you!

20131204_121512(0)

4 thoughts on “It’s starting to look a lot like Christmas…

  1. Christmas has always been about family and spending time together. Will be thinking of you this Christmas, knowing that we will not be able to do the things we used to do this year….A Blessed & Merry Christmas anyway…
    Love, Mummy

    Like

Leave a Reply

