Food Glorious Food (and Date Night…)

Today we ate out for both lunch and dinner – a privilege I don’t usually have! We had a day trip to Hahndorf with my parents and then, Dan and I had a quick dinner out, just to ourselves!

For those of you who haven’t heard of Hahndorf, it’s a little German town about half an hour out of Adelaide city. It’s a touristy little place, with lots of local products, German souvenirs and a variety of food. I also took notice of the fact that they have a few Spa motels, which seem really quite tempting. Maybe on our next special occasion…

Image

I didn’t take many pictures on the street because I was pushing Jacob around in his pram (he was asleep the whole time), but I did take pictures at lunch. We had a pub lunch at the German Arms Hotel, which was nice – I had a nice fat chicken schnitzel and Jacob stole some of my veggies off my plate. He also put his hand into my dad’s beer but escaped with just a froth wound. 🙂

ImageJacob was quite intrigued (and maybe a bit scared) of the many statues of German men. In terms of heritage, he’s part German and I want to make sure he identifies with that. I’m tempted to make him learn the accordion – what a sight it would be! But really, I want him to identify with the German language and perhaps go for a ‘home visit’ to good ol’ Germany.

Anyway, back from one part of the hills and off to another! Dan took me out to dinner at the Inglewood Inn, which is only 20 minutes away from where we live. What a gorgeous view we had from where we were sitting:

Image

We drive out through this part of the hills every week to get to our church out in Birdwood, and I really love changing backdrop. Right now, the grass is green and the trees are painted with hues of green, red and gold. Soon, they will be bare and the brooks will run fast with the winter rains. Then come the blossoms of spring, followed by the tan colours of summer. I’m so glad to live near the countryside.

But anyway, on to the food…

ImageI didn’t feel like meat so I ordered gnocchi with pumpkin and pinenuts, which was delicious but got a bit boring after a while. Beef pieces would have been quite nice with it… I don’t think I’d make a good vegetarian. And, of course, how could we miss dessert?

ImageJust a simple pecan pie with ice cream and berry coulis. Yum! 🙂 Overall a great experience. The Inglewood Inn is a really lovely place to eat – we’ve had breakfast there too, and that was delicious. They also have a function room overlooking a lovely garden area – perfect for a garden wedding! I almost convinced Daniel to marry me again there – he’s pondering it here, haha.

ImageBut really, date night ended in tears – not for us, but for Jacob. We came home to find him crying his heart out – apparently he was fine until they tried to sit him down for dinner. We are struggling a bit with him and his eating – he doesn’t like the high chair, doesn’t like being spoonfed, doesn’t like to drink water, etc. But we will get there!

Anyway, my little sook got his way (i.e. breast and breast alone) and is happily asleep. Sigh. Anyway, this is my favourite photo of the week – little boys should love their books.

Image

Over and out!

2 thoughts on “Food Glorious Food (and Date Night…)

  1. Have you tried baby led weaning? I’m not 100% sure on the details but I do know that it means they put the food in their mouth themselves and that it’s not mushed up food? Might make him more interested in eating? He seems like an independent little guy 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the suggestion – I initially was going to let him go with fully baby-led weaning but sometimes it’s easier (and less messy) to feed purees. I’m finding nowadays that he is more and more opposed to purees, and just spits it, flicks it or puts his hands into it. I may have to resort to baby-led weaning (and make sure I have a game plan with cleaning the baby chair and floor after each meal). My only worry is that he doesn’t get enough food/nutrition through baby-led weaning but I suppose if he’s hungry, he’ll eat…

      Like

Leave a Reply

