Big Camp! (Part 1)

So, last week we were away on a church camp where Jacob had his first taste of living in a tent! Our church conference organises an annual camp which goes for a whole week (due to popular request) in the first week of the school holidays. I was intent on going so I volunteered myself to help out in some areas there (though in retrospect, I would have loved to see more programs too!).

ImageHere we are, all set up! Dan and I had the tent while my parents-in-law were cosy in their caravan. We had power in the daytime (hence the yellow cables) but it was turned off at night, so no heaters at night *sob*. It was quite nice and warm in the sun but it did get a bit cold at night. Jacob refused to sleep in his portacot (even with a nice furry sheepskin blankie) so he hopped into bed a.k.a. air mattress with us, which was nice because he’s like a hot water bottle anyway.

We were actually camping on a school oval, not out in the bush, but it did get cold anyway. It’s a big Lutheran school up in the Barossa and has a wonderful campus with lots and lots of space. They even have a Jesus Walk, which is a little woodland area set up with some visuals and little devotional readings to contemplate Jesus’ death and resurrection.

ImageOne of the areas I was helping out in was the Beginners/Kinder division, which is for kids 0-6. The room was transformed into a little jungle, which set the mood well for the week (and the kids had an awesome time!). The theme song for the week was “Who’s the King of the Jungle” which I had never heard before, but now I can’t get it out of my head!

ImageJacob thinks he’s king of the jungle. Lots and lots of soft toys to play with!! We brought along his little jungle tunnel for the little babies to play in (and also for any of the older kids who wanted to show how quickly they could crawl through the tunnel). There was also an outdoor area where kids could play on the slide, build houses with some huge lego blocks, sit in the ball pit, etc. It was amazing to see the dynamics of the little kids, especially since there was such a huge range of ages and abilities. Jacob was one of the littlest ones there and it was great conditioning for him to, to get used to bigger kids.

ImageI also helped out with Women’s Ministries (and no, it’s not just because they had such an awesome high tea spread)!Β The whole camp’s theme was on being Set Free, so we talked a bit about freedom and how to be set free, not just in physical terms but emotionally and spiritually too. I had to miss a few programs there as they clashed with the Children’s programs, but it was a great journey of discovery and I look forward to delving deeper into the subject. I can’t say I am truly free yet because there are chains that I still have yet to break, but I know that in due time, they will be broken!

ImageA beautiful view of the sunset over the oval, and the moon’s out too! πŸ™‚ I think that the sky is just more beautiful up in the Barossa, but maybe that’s just me. It was interesting roughing it out (a bit) but after a long day or a busy play session, anywhere’s about good enough for a nice sleep.

Image

Also, Jacob turned 8 months yesterday! How time flies! πŸ™‚ I won’t do a full monthly update for him, though I must say he’s grown in leaps and bounds in the recent weeks – not so much in size, but in intellect and ability. Jacob, you continue to light up my life! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

