Anzac Day Weekend

We’ve just gotten back from a lovely long weekend away. Today is Anzac Day, which commemorates Australians and New Zealanders who have served and protected their countries in wars and other missions.

lest

While I grew up in Malaysia, hence this occasion is a relatively new concept to me, the unity seen on the day feels somewhat similar to how Malaysians celebrate our independence day. There is a strong sense of symbolism with the red poppies, wreaths and even Anzac biscuits – and then the memorial services as well. I haven’t been to a service for ages but when I was a student, my apartment was directly opposite from the National War Memorial in the city and I used to hear the dawn service and watch part of it from my room (though lucky me could go back to sleep after – those were the days!).

I was trying to work out if I had been to a memorial service before, and I think we did go to one at the Australian War Memorial, Canberra 6 years ago! Or it may have just been a regular service as I think this was in the afternoon? This was one of the first trips Daniel and I took together – we drove from Adelaide to Newcastle in a day! We plan to do a NSW trip sometime this year as well, but it will be a lot trickier with two kids this time!

As I’ve been in Australia for nearly 10 years, I probably should read more about Anzac Day and educate my kids about it. On a blog I often read, the writer listed a few good Anzac Day books that can help kids understand the concept of Anzac Day – here is the post. Have you read any of these books with your kids?

~~~

On a separate note, we went away for a lovely beach holiday down in Normanville. More updates about that to come, but just wanted to share this adorable shot of these cuties (Jacob, Jared and my nephew) waiting patiently for their breakfast. Credits to my mum-in-law for capturing the moment!

cuties

Hope you all had a great long weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

