Why my relationship works…

I took a bit of a break because I just needed to clear some space in my head. We’re about to make quite a big decision, a sad one at that too, so I just haven’t really felt in the mood to blog. But I’m back now!

Phew, what a busy last couple of days – and rainy ones too! We have just had downpour after downpour, and I have absolutely LOVED every moment of it. I had to run errands on Friday and every time I was about to get out of the car, the rain would start pouring down (and it even hailed on us) so there was a bit of sitting around in the car waiting for the rain to subside. Even though I tried, Jacob still managed to get himself wet (lots of jumping in muddy puddles).

But nothing beats a rainy day than a warm snuggle in our bed! This is the scene in my bed at 6.30am a  few mornings ago – love these two but no space in bed for me, sigh!

20160528_063701_resized - Copy

~~~

Today I’m meant to talk about what makes my relationship work. Of course, there are lots of deep underlying reasons, but here are just a few fun ones…

  1. We love the same genre of movies and TV series. Okay, so this isn’t the most important thing but it certainly makes things easier on movie nights. Plus, we both enjoy a nice hot chocolate and cookies while lounging on the sofa together.
  2. We complement each other – I am the dreamer and he is the realist. I am the impulsive one and he’s the one who will tell me all the pros and cons before I jump into something I’m over my head in.
  3. We love travelling together. We’ve been to a number of places together and we’re keen to keep exploring the world together (except now we’ll have to lug two boys along with us too!).

  4. We have the same sense of humour – a bit left wing and sometimes a little politically incorrect but we share it in close quarters. We send each other funny pics or videos on Facebook sometimes!
  5. We love being together but also don’t mind if we each get a bit of “me time” – like sometimes he’ll play basketball or play PS4 with his friends, and sometimes I get my girls nights out. It’s all about balance!
  6. We love eating together. Hubby and I are both adventurous eaters which is so much fun – back in the day, we used to go out for all sorts of cuisines (though now we mostly eat at home or have takeaway due to child constraints)

  7. We profess the same faith and go to church together. I think it really helps us in other big life decisions because our faith also defines underlying values that we live by as well.
  8. We appreciate each other. Maybe I don’t tell him enough, but he does so much for me – from the little things like serving me when I’m feeding Jared or cleaning up after I cook in the kitchen (as I make an awful mess). And for always fixing my tech issues and for getting all my favourite shows. And I always feel appreciated by him for all the stuff I do at home with the kids, cooking meals, etc.
  9. We make beautiful children (and love them to bits!). I know people say that having kids can take its toll on your relationship, but I feel that our kids bring us together as well and we end up making more amazing memories together.

What makes your relationship tick?

4 thoughts on “Why my relationship works…

  1. All those reasons are so beautiful! And i don’t think that loving the same movies is silly at all.. all those little things make who you guys are! Such a beautiful family. Sorry to hear you’ve been having a rough couple of days. Hope it gets better soon!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for the well wishes – ugh just a big decision that I don’t want to make but really, in truth, will end up better for all. Will update more about it later when I have sorted things out! But yes, I love all the little things that we have in common – tonight is our GOT night so we were couch potatoes again!

      Like

  2. My husband and I’ve been married for 36 years. The question in your post put my mind to thinking….the biggest reason our marriage/relationship has lasted this long is because we respect each other’s independence and we’re both to stubborn to give up on each other. 🙂 Believe me, there have been times that we probably weren’t real fond of each other but working through those tough times has only made us a stronger, more united as a couple. Like you, I feel that our children made our relationship better. BTW….I absolutely LOVE the name of your blog! Cute!!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for reading – and wow, congrats on your many years of marriage! And certainly, respect and determination (my way of portraying stubbornness) are definitely key values that one needs in a marriage. We have our off days but I think we’re doing okay 😉 And thanks re the blog name – I love my little dragons! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

